Beginnings

In every moment, in every event of your life, the Beloved is whispering to you exactly what you need to hear and know. Who can ever explain this miracle? It simply is. Listen and you will discover it every passing moment. Listen, and your whole life will become a conversation in thought and act between you and Him, directly, wordlessly, now and always.

~ Rumi

I have wanted to homeschool since my children were babies, but it didn’t happen. I think the main reason for this was fear, the fear that I wouldn’t be able to do it adequately. I had almost decided to homeschool my first child when I discovered I was pregnant with my fourth child and I didn’t think I could both grow and birth and mother a baby and simultaneously help my older child learn (although plenty of people do) and so I reluctantly sent her to school. It is very hard to relinquish your child to the ‘system’ when you don’t believe in it, it means you are never at ease with educational options and choices, nothing ever seems ‘right’ because for you, it isn’t.

If you cannot create an environment for your family that supports your own values, it takes a lot of the joy out of parenting. Creativity and spontaneity and joy come from knowing that you are doing the best for your kids, your own understanding of the ‘best’, not just settling for ‘ok’ or ‘barely adequate’ or someone else’s idea of good.

When your own values and dreams are unconventional, there is bound to be a discord, unless you do it yourself. And this takes a lot of courage and surrendering to the unknown, it is a reclaiming of a kind of parenting that is largely forgotten, one that isn’t surrendered to the State or to dominant norms that prevail simply because they are the current of the time, not because they make sense or are really valuable or nurturing.

When the decision is made to take this on, with the fear there is also a bursting excitement and an enormous sense of freedom. It is a time of beginnings and a time of hope.

As we say, inshaAllah…God willing!

2 thoughts on “Beginnings

Leave a Reply

