World War One Diorama

When we first started homeschooling again and I asked H what he wanted to start with he said he wanted to learn about the First World War. I have to admit I really struggle with his interest in wars and weapons but I’ve realised his fascination with competition is simply innate. Superficially reading the Waldorf curriculum I have noticed that it comes up with developmentally appropriate means of stimulating this fascination with conflict and I hope we can pursue some of the themes relevant to his age group later on. But for the time being I went with his suggestion and we started to investigate the causes of the war.

photo 1-3

I find that whilst he is really happy to discuss things for quite some time, there is a real resistance to doing anything like compiling points or lists or any of the methods we usually use to retain information yet I think pushing such forced academics would be really counter-productive. It makes me realise just how regimented we have been taught to be with our learning and it’s hard to step outside of this mold and recognise that learning can occur without taking these steps.

photo 2-3

The main point I think H took away about the war was how it escalated from a series of events impacting only a couple of countries into something impacting a good proportion of the world.

photo 3-3

Leave a Reply

